2016 Club Oratorical Contest
Topic: "How My Best Brings Out the Best in Others"

2016 Club Oratorical Contest Participants, Judges, and Avon Optimist Club President John Haselden

Congratulations to All of Our Contestants!
All the young people who competed in the Club contest put a great deal of time and energy into writing and practicing their speeches, and we wish them all the best for the future. Girl contestants in alphabetical order: Payton Baker, Elise Echerd, Katherine Langford, Sadie Smith, Sarah Taylor, Abigail Unrue, and Sonora Vozos. Boy contestants in alphabetical order: Landen Bretz, Caleb Reymann, and Connor Matthew Taylor.

In the Girls' contest, Abigail Unrue won Bronze and Sonora Vozos took Silver. For the Boys' Contest, Bronze went to Caleb Reymann and Silver to Landen Bretz. Ms. Katherine Langford and Mr. Connor Taylor were our Gold Medal winners. They also moved on to the Regional Contest at the Plainfield Library.

A very special "Thank you!" goes to our distinguished judges: Shane Ray of XRB and WYRZ Radio, the Hononorable Daniel Zielinski, Judge of Hendricks County Circuit Court, and the Hononorable Rhett Stuard, Judge of Hendricks County Superior Court 2. Thanks also to the Avon-Washington Township Library, to all the club members who helped with the contest, and to Oratorical Chair Jeff Binkley.